Our little seaside getaway


Using money inherited from my parents, I have bought a holiday home on the coast. Daughter has already dubbed it our little seaside getaway.

Every year, for the previous years, or so, we have been camping on the coast. But in 2012, the weather was so bad that we decided to book at the nearest holiday village instead. We had a lovely time, and the Grandkids were still playing holidays at Christmas!

The site has about 150 chalets set on the cliffs overlooking the sea. The centre of the site has a swimming pool and lounge bar, where you can lurk with your laptop, and an arcade. Outside, there is tennis and volleyball courts, crazy golf and a children’s playground. The nearest shop is a short walk away.

The opportunity arose to buy the chalet we stayed in last summer. I hesitated. Was this good use of my parents’ money? Would they approve? Bearing in mind that they had been holidaying in Cromer for over forty years, I thought they would. Daughter thought that even if the value of the chalet did not appreciate much, it was a good opportunity to invest in creating happy memories for all the family.

And already, I did have happy memories of the area. As a young teenager I had attended a youth camp in a local boarding school. My parents had rented a cottage in the area one summer, and we had been camping there for the last few years.

The day of completion arrived. Within a couple of days, I was driving back to take possession of the chalet. It was good to be back. A few hours later,I was in the nearest town, shopping for bits and pieces. I wanted to rush into all the shops shouting “I’m back!”

What was really noticeable was that everyone was so friendly and helpful. What we call good customer service in London is exceeded here. So I really did feel welcomed back. And we are all set to create those memories.

20130620-055530.jpg

Leave a Reply

