Evolution or creation?


Every year, I try to read through as much of the bible as I can manage. Some years are more successful than others. In 2011 I am going to read the bible through in chronological order. BibleGateway.com has worked it all out for me. I can also choose which version of the bible I want to read it in. For the moment, New Living Translation.

So I’m reading my way through Genesis 1 when I come to:

“Then God said, ‘Let the land sprout with vegetation – every sort of seed-bearing plant, and trees that grow seed-bearing fruit. These seeds will then produce the kinds of plants and trees from which they came.’ And that is what happened. … Their seeds produced plants and trees of the same kind.” (verses 11 and 12)

And then, a bit further on, this:

“God made all sorts of wild animals, livestock, and small animals, each able to produce offspring of the same kind.” (verse 25)

So then I go back to a more accurate translation, and it does say that, but not so explicitly. So if plants and animals reproduce the same kind, how do you explain evolution? How can a monkey become a man? How can a fish become a snake, etc? Hhmmm.

Read on and you see that human beings are unique. They are made in God’s image (verse 27).¬† And, God breathes life into man (chapter 2 verse 7). How good is that?

Leave a Reply

